PREGSOSA Alumni hold 50 years graduation anniversary, donate to school

Former students of Premier Grammar School, Abeokuta, also known as the Glorious 8th Set of 1967/71, have commemorated their 50 years out-of-school anniversary with gift presentations to their alma mater.

The occasion, held on Saturday 29th January, 2022 at the school premises, provided an opportunity for members of the class to reconnect after more than half a century, while they also integrate with the national body of Premier Grammar School Abeokuta Old Students Association (PREGSOSA).

In his welcome address, the anniversary committee chairman, Pastor B. A. Adesina FCA, FCTI, MBA, appreciated God for making the occasion possible after such a long time of passing out of the school. While acknowledging the roles of some departed colleagues, he emphasized the roles of old students’ association in the development of aged institutions.

“Nowadays, major developments in schools are anchored by the Alumni, because of the inadequate funding from the government. Ours is not different.
“Celebrating 50th anniversary of leaving the school is one of the ways we have designed to critically intervene in her development,”
he said.

Upon visitation to the school premises following series of virtual meetings, the old students 8th glorious set 1967/71 observed the deplorable state of infrastructures. Thus, they resolved to renovate the SS3 block and refurbish some benches and chairs to mark their anniversary celebration. They achieved this through the ribbon-cutting occasion by the former Permanent Secretary, Ogun State Governor’s Office, Alhaji Nurudeen Oyedele also an alumnus of the school.

The event was anchored by the national president of PREGSOSA, Elder Olusina Ajayi, who reiterated the necessity of continual contribution to the development of the school. He mentioned the efforts of other Alumni sets, as well as the ongoing needs such as extra security personnel. Also, the school plans to commercialize one of its borehole water sources.

Elder Ajayi also used the occasion to extract commitments from members of the class present. As a result, five (5) of them were inaugurated to represent their set at the national body of PREGSOSA. They are; Deacon Titus Alao Soetan (Patron); Snr. Evangelist Joseph Akinfenwa (Chairman); Elder Musibau Kola Oyekunle (Admin); Pastor Bashiru Alani Adesina (Treasurer); and Mrs. Titilayo Tanimomo (Public Relations Officer).

L-R: Mrs. Titilayo Tanimomo (Public Relations Officer); Snr. Evangelist Joseph Akinfenwa (Chairman); Pastor Bashiru Alani Adesina (Treasurer); Elder Musibau Kola Oyekunle (Admin); and Deacon Titus Alao Soetan (Patron); committee members of the Glorious 8th Set 1967/71 being inaugurated into PREGSOSA.

The committee patron, Deacon Soetan, a former President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN) was specially recognized by his classmates for his excellent performance and meritorious services to the nation and humanities. His was part of an elaborate awards and gift presentations.

Other members of the class present include Michael Okewale; Albert Abayomi Obadina; Tajudeen Sodeinde; Sulaimon Kelejaiye; Ajala Goriola; Mrs. Funmilayo Oni (nee Adebayo); Morayo Akinyanju (nee Coker); while Anthony Adeniyi Akinwunmi and Francis Tunde Akinwunmi joined virtually.

The Board of Trustees members present on the high table were Dr. Paul Fadiji, Engr. T.S. Sogbaike, Mrs. Bola Adenuga, Dr. Kayode Akinlawo and Alhaji Nurudeen Oyedele.

Mr. Kanmi Onipede also joined virtually, while the principal of the high school, Mr. Waheed Kolawo Salami and the principal of the junior School Mrs. Modinat Adunni Okelabi were other members of the high table at the event.