CITN VI-Lekki holds 2nd AGM, appreciation for outgoing executives

The VI-Lekki & District Society of the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN) held her 2nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) and a formal appreciation event organized for the outgoing executives on the 12th of June 2021.

The outgoing CITN VI-Lekki District Society Chairman, Ms. Emmanuella Soyingbe FCTI, gave an account of the different projects and initiatives accomplished under her leadership and solicited the support of all for the next set of leaders in the district.

Since the last AGM held online in July 2020, membership has increased from 50 in June 2019 to 107 currently. Its advocacy has impacted upon the less privileged, the elderly, and school children with presence and presents.

The Financial Statements of the district for the year ended 31st December 2020, prepared by Mr. Olukunle Fagbayi FCTI, the Financial Secretary, and audited by Dr. Austin Ejaife & Co. was read and adopted by members present (both physically and those who connected virtually). They also voted to retain the services of the external auditors.

The highlight of the district’s financial performance is reflected in how its total reserves and liabilities rose by 396% to N2.5 million in May 2021 from zero Naira when it started two years ago.

The outgoing CITN VI-Lekki & District chairman, Ms. Emmanuela Soyingbe, (right) felicitating with the new chairman, Mr. Olugbenga Oyewole (second left) along with his wife and other exco members.

Other members of the outgoing district executives are Mr. Olugbenga Oyewole (Vice-Chairman), Mrs. Abidemi Olawumi (Deputy Vice-Chairman), Mr. Gbemiga Ladejebi (General Secretary), Mrs. Kike Kola-Fasanu (Assistant General Secretary), Mr. Olukunle Fagbayi (Financial Secretary), Mr. Dolapo Oyeniyi (Legal Adviser) and Mr. Nnamdi Uti (Social/Publicity Secretary).

The Vice President of the Institute, Barrister Samuel Agbeluyi FCTI, represented the National President, Mr. Adesina Adedayo, FCTI who was unavoidably absent.

Barr. Agbeluyi gave a brief history of the CITN as an organization that started as an NGO in 1982 and became chartered in 1992.

“There are 42 Districts of the CITN as of date. The VI-Lekki & District Society was the 36th District established in 2019. The district has achieved many strives since its inception and this is in no small measure due to the strides of the outgoing executives,” he said.